Culture Travellers

Two people on the edge of coherent ideas

True Tears

It’s ironic that the first thing I write about in this blog is an article concerning an anime that’s part of a genre I don’t particularly like. That’s not to say I don’t like romance/daily life/drama anime. Far from it. I just stay away from them because of the odd pacing.

But enough about that. I came to watch True Tears by actually having to work on it. I’m part of the english fansubbing scene, and I started this project to make an already-subbed series more consistent. My part was fine timing, editing, and quality assurance. I watched this series so many times that i feel like it’s the back of my hand, and it’s dug its way into my brain that i feel i won’t be able to forget it.

Now, on to the actual review.

The series is about a regular teenager named Shinichirou. He’s your run-of-the-mill guy who is as clueless as Inspector Clouseau. He’s drawing this picture book. Like I said, banal. He’s living in his parents’ house with an addopted girl that he likes. She’s also actually in love with him, but she’s too busy being emo, crying herself to sleep every night, to tell him her feelings. Speaking of feelings, you know who has feelings? Blokes what bludgeon their wife to death with a golf trophy. Professionals have standards. Unfortunately, nobody here is pro enough, so on with the rant.

The story starts when he meets a wacko girl from his school, stuck in a tree and unable to come down. Turns out, she likes chickens. She also wants to fly. She also thinks chicken can fly. She lost her tears and now she’s looking for this special somebody to get them back. Nuff said. Then there’s this other girl, his best friend’s girlfriend, which is also secretly in love with him. She works at some sort of bakery, and whatnot. That’s right. Now we have 3 girls. This looks like a love polygon.

The characters themselves are human, for a change. Their personalities are properly expressed, in no small part due to the top-notch voice acting and the smooth animation. They act like humans, despite the fact that they’re 2D drawings. Yeah, this is what makes it worthwhile.

Thankfully, for all of the cliches here, the series is actually good. Great visuals, great animation, great soundtrack, quirky story, and some tear-jerking dialogues for those that are into that kind of stuff, and enough things happening in these 13 episodes to keep you wanting more, and to keep you from falling asleep.  Which makes this a good watch, and I reccomend it to anyone that cares enough about what I say.

Take it with a grain of salt, however, because – who knows – you probably didn’t like this post either.

Not that I care.

July 28, 2008 Posted by | Anime | , , | 1 Comment